Book Review · Books · Fiction · YA Fiction

Once And For All by Sarah Dessen

Sarah Dessen has been one of my favorite authors since I first discovered her books in high school, and as of yet her stories have never disappointed. 

41BQm+SwkqL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_Once And For All
Sarah Dessen
Viking

Synopsis
From Sarah Dessen, the beloved New York Times bestselling author of SAINT ANYTHING and JUST LISTEN, comes a new novel set in the world of wedding planning!
Is it really better to have loved and lost?  Louna’s summer job is to help brides plan their perfect day, even though she stopped believing in happily-ever-after when her first love ended tragically.  But charming girl-magnet Ambrose isn’t about to be discouraged now that he’s met the one he really  wants.  Maybe Louna’s second chance is standing right in front of her. 

Sarah Dessen’s many fans will adore this latest novel, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story with humor, romance, and an ending that is so much more than happily-ever-after.

I don’t even know where to start with this book. Every time I hear a new Sarah Dessen title is in the works, it automatically goes on my TBR and must-buy lists. I was lucky enough to pick this up at BookCon this year AND meet Sarah Dessen in person, which was amazing. I had to force myself to wait until this weekend to start Once And For All, because I just knew reading it would be a stay-up-all-night-until-you-finish kind of event.

I loved pretty much everything about this book. Sarah Dessen can take the most heart-wrenching storylines and somehow turn them into the sweetest, most uplifting love stories. Watching Louna’s transformation from the jaded, cynical girl you meet at the beginning of the book to where she ends up at the end is such a great experience. I love the dynamic between her and Ambrose, and it’s especially fun to watch her opinions change towards him as she gets to know more about him.

Once And For All is written in a dual storyline – Louna’s present with Ambrose, and Louna telling the story of her past, with Ethan. Both storylines fit well together, and I didn’t find the transitions between to two to be confusing at all. The “Ethan” part of the story is heartbreaking, and you really get the gist of why Louna stopped believing in love, or at least another great love for herself.

I don’t want to give too much of the story away, because I think watching it unfold in bits and pieces is a major part of the overall “experience” of reading this book.

I will say that one of my favorite parts of any Sarah Dessen novel are the cameos from previous books that always show up – the town of Colby, an appearance by Auden & Eli, and (I think) one of Wes’ sculptures, to name just a few from Once And For All. It always makes me so happy when I recognize a setting or character!

I don’t think any book will ever be able to top The Truth About Forever as my favorite Sarah Dessen book of all time, but Once And For All has come much closer than any other book has in a LONG time. I absolutely loved this book, and I highly, highly recommend picking this up if you’re at all into YA reads.

Once And For All is now available wherever books are sold.

Rating
5 Hearts

Signature C

Have you read Once And For All yet? Did you love it too?

Leave a Reply

